Statement on Charlottesville and other current events

2 Comments

Ever since the horrific tragedies that happened last week in Charlottesville and our “president” claiming that the violence had “many sides,” I have been so afraid for our country. The fact that our leadership does not acknowledge the terrorism going on in our own backyard is frightening and, frankly, pathetic. As a Jewish person, this situation looks all too familiar to me. I know what happens when a leader supports white supremacy and anti-Semitism, and those sorts of events have no place in our world. The fact that there are people out there who do not want people of color or Jewish people to exist is scary. People who support white supremacy are people who want families like mine to perish, but they will not get to us. Time and time again, people of color and Jewish people have risen up and shown that we deserve to be here just as much as white non-Jews. When we were slaves, we escaped to freedom. When people wanted to obliterate the Jewish people, although many were killed, our culture, religion, and traditions prevailed.

 

I want to take a moment to thank all of the Gentiles who have stood up in support of Jewish people. Your bravery and courage saves lives and makes sure that we can practice our religion and celebrate our culture without fear. You are the reason that we are still here today. I am so indescribably grateful for every single Gentile who realizes how dangerous this situation could be and is taking steps to counteract what 45 wants to do.

 

I also want to reassure that my fellow Americans of color and anyone else who is scared of the impact of the toleration of white supremacy that I stand with you and I will do everything I can to make sure your rights and lives are protected. As I have said before, history has taught us that if we do not stand up for others, terrible things will happen.

 

Finally, I firmly believe that what makes this country strong is its diversity. Every single day, people of all races, abilities, religions, ethnicities, genders, ages, and sexualities come together to make a positive impact on the world. In the end, love will always trump hate, no matter what.

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

2 thoughts on “Statement on Charlottesville and other current events

  1. Dear Maisie
    THANK YOU for speaking out about this horrific incident .
    I would like , with your permission, to forward this article to my congress people and to the Pres.too.

  2. Missed this when you originally posted it. Powerful, well-written statement!

Leave a Reply

