Thanksgiving Poem 2016

7 Comments

Ever since my mother was a young girl, my family has had a Thanksgiving tradition where each child has to write a poem about what they are thankful for. This year, I wrote a couplet (a poem where each set of two lines rhymes) that encapsulates what I am thankful for, and at the request of my family, I am posting it here. (NOTE: Due to the spacing on WordPress, I have to put each rhyming couplet in one line).

Thanksgiving Poem 2016

I am thankful for:

My family’s constant support and love, which is truly a gift from up above.

Each and every one of my friends, on whom I always can depend.

My teachers, who have always believed that whatever I want, I can achieve.

My parents, who are always able to put a roof over my head and food on the table.

Living in America, with everything I need; already the best country in the world, indeed!

Now, I’d like to take this moment to pray for those without a family or place to stay.

For the people in desperate need who don’t know how to write or read.

For the people who, no matter how hard they try, are barely even scraping by.

For the people who wish on stars, begging to be accepted for who they are.

For the people told they can never win because of the color of their skin.

For the people living through a war, who don’t have anything worth fighting for.

Today, we thank God for giving us all we need, and ask God to help others succeed.

Because even though things may seem tough, we must always remember those with less than us.

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Poem 2016

  1. thank you for creating such a meaningful poem on this thanksgiving holiday. Your understanding of the human condition , the gifts we receive and our gratitude for these gifts . Remembering those who have suffered a dare still suffering is a core ethical principal of Judaism and other faiths and of a humane society. Let’s keep working for a better world together

  2. Maisie Dear-

    The poem you wrote reflects your compassion for and understanding of humanity. It was beautifully expressed- each and every couplet. I would be most interested in reading your other poetry as your sensitivity to the human condition impresses me.

    May your lovely soul delight in the warmth of your faith and family for many decades to come.

    Love,
    Barbara

  3. Pingback: Get a Jump on Thanksgiving 2017 with This Poem – Let's Do Truth.

  4. So beautifully said. Can think of nothing to add.
    “What a beautiful world” you hope for.

  5. This is wonderful Maisie, thank you for sharing it!

  6. So beyond proud of you for being who you are!!!!! Oxoxoxox

  7. Beautiful post, Maisie, and much in need this holiday season. Love, Cousins Neil and Barbara

Leave a Reply

