Maisie the Writer

Just a girl blogging about her life…

My Fall/Winter 2015 Music Picks!

1 Comment

Hey guys! I know I haven’t been very good about posting recently…high school is SO much work! Anyway, I’m going to try to post once a week because writing this blog is what I love to do, and I want to keep making content for you guys because I LOVE ALL OF YOU SO MUCH!

There’s been a lot of great new music on the scene lately, and I feel the need to take a moment to appreciate all of it. So, without further ado, my Fall/Winter 2015 Music Picks!

“Hello” by Adele

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ROg5A3h9_nY

Let’s be real here: there’s an Adele fangirl living within each of our souls. I was SO excited when I found out Adele was coming out with new songs for the first time in three years. I’ve been a fan of hers since I was 10 and “Rolling in the Deep” came out. In short, if you want feels that can only come from an Adele song, check this one out.

“Here” by Alessia Cara

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GrGX4KZ44WI

I have some friends on the music scene, and they’ve been raving about Alessia ever since the summer. This 19-year-old’s haunting vocals on this extremely relatable track stand out on the radio airwaves. I guarantee this will be stuck in your head after listening to it just one time. If you like unique voices, then check this song out.

“Better When I’m Dancing” by Meghan Trainor

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkCyfBibIbI

You’ll recognize this song if you’ve seen “The Peanuts Movie” (I know I have)! There’s something about this tune that just makes me want to get up and dance, even if I’m just jamming in my bedroom. Meghan actually wrote this song after a performance one night. She was feeling kind of down, but once she got onstage and started singing and dancing, she instantly felt better. As a dancer, I can totally relate to that message. Plus, the video is so adorable! It features Meghan dancing with her real-life friends and family. If you want a peppy tune that is guaranteed to have you grooving, check out this track for sure!

“Confident” by Demi Lovato

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udLuRz9nP6A

Leave it to my girl Demi to make all women everywhere to feel “Confident”! This song brings a whole new meaning to girl power! Demi went through a hard time a few years ago and this song is her swinging comeback. When life knocks you down, this song will make you get back up, better and stronger than before, just like Demi did.

“Focus” by Ariana Grande

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAB1IM2qxCY

I’m pretty sure it would be a felony if I made a “Best New Music of Fall/Winter 2015” list and forgot to include Ariana’s new single! This song has an energetic, fun beat that is sure to get any party started. Everyone else had better watch out, because my girl Ari is making the entire world “Focus” on her.

“I Know What You Did Last Summer (IKWYDLS)” by Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=au_xtTtO408

Okay, the entire reason I made this list was a clever way to announce that SHAWN MENDES AND CAMILA CABELLO DID A COLLAB. I REPEAT, SHAWN MENDES AND CAMILA CABELLO DID A COLLAB. The story behind this song is (almost) even better than the song itself. Shawn and Camila were hanging out backstage this past summer at one of the concerts on Taylor Swift’s 1989 Tour because Shawn was one of her opening acts and Camila is one of Tay’s best friends. Anyway, Shawn never leaves home without his guitar, and he and Camila ran into each other. They knew each other from the Austin Mahone tour a few years ago, but they didn’t really talk on that tour because Camila wanted to hang out with her Fifth Harmony bandmates 24/7. They had 30 minutes before Shawn had to go onstage, and they were initially just fooling around with different melodies and verses. By the time Shawn had to perform, they had the pre-chorus and chorus to IKWYDLS. They then booked an 11-hour studio session to finish writing and recording the song. They actually recorded the song over the summer and dropped subtle hints that this song was going to be a thing over the last three months, but for the most part, this duet caught fans by total surprise, especially since Camila is already in Fifth Harmony. The song came out on iTunes at midnight on November 18th, and has been making waves–and starting relationship rumors–ever since!

More to come on Shawn and Camila–and more new music–soon!

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

One thought on “My Fall/Winter 2015 Music Picks!

  1. Can’t wait to check out the new tunes

Leave a Reply

