Maisie the Writer

Just a girl blogging about her life…

My Top 10 Picks for The Voice Season 9

2 Comments

I’m back! I know I vanished from the face of the earth, but man, high school is A LOT of work! Don’t worry, I will be better about posting regularly from now on. Anyway, I’m a person who likes to be positive and happy, so I’m going to move on from school *insert puke emojis here* and focus on the only good part about the fall, The Voice!!!!!!!

For those of you who have been living under an enormous soundproof rock, The Voice is an awesome televised singing competition on NBC. They always manage to discover the best singers, like Cassadee Pope, Danielle Bradbery, and Jacquie Lee, to name a few, and the banter between the coaches is side-splitting.

The main thing that makes The Voice different from every other singing competition on the planet is the Blind Audition phase of the competition. The contestants that make it past the three rounds of open call auditions get flown out to Los Angeles to sing in front of four music moguls, otherwise known as the coaches: Adam Levine, Blake Shelton, Pharrell Williams, and Gwen Stefani. Or, should I say, in back. The coaches sit in fancy-schmancy-red-leather-and-chrome chairs with their backs to the auditioning singers, and if they like what they hear, they push a button on their chair, and the chair turns around, lights up with the words “I WANT YOU” in big letters, and only then do they see what the contestants look like. If more than one coach turns around, the contestant gets to pick their coach. This requires the coaches to fight tooth and nail over the rising stars, and it’s pretty hard to take anyone seriously.

Since The Voice is my all-time favorite television program, I do my own personal Top 10 picks right here on my blog right after the blind auditions. So, without further ado, I present, Maisie’s Top Picks for The Voice Season 9!

1)Siahna Im

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XoXs1FyTzis

Siahna Im was 15 years old at her Blind Audition, but she just turned 16 four days ago (Siahna, if you’re reading this, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY YOU’RE MY QUEEN MY LIFE MY EVERYTHING I LOVE YOU). She watched a Ray Charles video when she was in the third grade and decided, right then and there, that she was going to be a jazz singer. She masterfully performed the Peggy Lee version of Little Willie John’s “Fever,” and caught the attention of Gwen, Pharrell, and Blake. However, after greeting Pharrell as “Grandmaster Skateboard P,” Gwen and Blake knew resistance was futile. Siahna went with Team Pharrell and stole the hearts of America while she was at it.

2) Ellie Lawrence

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3e1SlUpH-0

My next favorite artist is my mermaid sister, Ellie Lawrence (she has bright blue hair and likes pretending to be a mermaid, as do I. We are a very mature fandom, folks). Ellie is from a small town in Georgia, but she is anything but a country princess. Her passion is indie rock. She did a beautiful, incredibly stripped down, honest version of “We Don’t Have to Take Our Clothes Off” by Jermaine Stewart, which, according to my mother, was an 80’s dance club song. Anyway, this was the least surprising coach choice in Voice history, because Ellie had an all-out fangirl attack the second Gwen turned around for her. “She’s the queen of ska, man. She revolutionized, for all women in bands, I mean, that’s her. Right there.” Ellie said. Cue fangirl attack and “I pick Team Gwen.” I love this girl, partly because of her equally raspy and ethereal tone and partly because she had the exact same reaction that I would have in that situation.

3) Ivonne Acero

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yHlfNOoqgnM

IT’S THE COMEBACK KID!!!!!!!!!! SHE’S BACK!!!!!!! IVONNE IS BACK, FOLKS!!!!!!! Ivonne Acero auditioned for Season 8 with “Try” by Colbie Caillat and the coaches must have all had super clogged ears that day because she was amazing and perfect the first time around. Anyway, she gave the show another whirl and was 20 times more amazing and perfect with Taylor Swift’s “Style.” Her tone is incredible, so light and airy yet dense with passion. Luckily, Gwen and Pharrell had their brains on and turned around for her, and, despite Gwen’s “I didn’t not turn for you last season” argument (which was a good point), she went with Team Pharrell.

4) Jordan Smith

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHR4oOIcVZo

It would be cruel and unusual punishment to spoil this one for you guys. Just click the link above and you’ll know what I mean once you see it.

5) Amanda Ayala

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L3eLXzrjH7Y

Amanda Ayala is not your typical pop princess: this teen queen aspires to do classic rock. She has an incredibly rich, powerful tone that had Pharrell, Adam, and Blake fighting over her. Amanda nailed “Mississippi Queen” by Mountain. With her edgy vibe and raw vocal ability, this girl could be in the finale.

6) Jeffery Austin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zAaVoMLblDY

I’m sure you’ve all heard of the one-hit wonder, but have you heard of the one-chair wonder? If you haven’t, click on the link above and you’ll know exactly what, or who, I am referring to. Jeffery Austin powerfully belted out one of my personal favorites, “Lay Me Down” by Sam Smith, citing Smith and John Legend as his top musical influences. Adam, Pharrell, and Blake really missed out on a potential frontrunner of this competition. Oh well, more power to Gwen!

7) Korin Bukowski

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hNTxg-lUSNY

ANOTHER TEAM GWEN ONE-CHAIR WONDER!!! THEY’RE EVERYWHERE!!!!! Anyway, Korin Bukowski has the coolest, most unique tone I have ever heard. “You also have a lot of range and dynamic, which I was really surprised by, especially because you have such a unique tone,” Gwen accurately pointed out. Korin’s one-of-a-kind rendition of “Cecelia and the Satellite” by Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness caught the attention of Queen Unique herself, Gwen Stefani. I’m really starting to think that this could be Gwen’s year. I’m feeling it, folks!

8) Lyndsey Elm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoQstgLztlQ

Lyndsey Elm’s acoustic-y arrangement of “Lips Are Movin’” by Meghan Trainor not only earned her a four-chair turn, but the support of MTrain herself! With all of the coaches at her disposal, Lyndsey chose Team Gwen, having listened to Gwen since she was a little kid. Not only can she sing and play guitar at the same time, but this girl sassed the audience while she was at it. I think that Lyndsey has real potential in this competition.

9) Shelby Brown

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0m2Q1XcrPfk

BREAKING NEWS: ADAM HAS A COUNTRY ARTIST, Y’ALL! Oh, man! I never thought that I would ever utter, er, type, those words with Blake Shelton being one of the coaches of this show. Also, this girl is 16?!?!? What?!?! Is it even possible?!?!?!? Her sheer lung capacity to hit the high notes in Grace Potter and the Nocturnals’ “Stars” in her chest voice has got to be superhuman. Anyway, if Adam Levine tells you that he has one spot left on his team and that there is no doubt in his mind that it is meant for you, you join Team Adam, even if you’re from a small town in Alabama. It’s as simple as that. I’m telling you, Shelby may be only 16, but her big voice is going to do even bigger things.

10) Krista Hughes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_oc2WL8DfQ

I hold “Angel from Montgomery” to an extremely high standard because Audra Mclaughlin from Season 6 auditioned with that song, and she is one of my favorite singers ever, so I was like, “Krista, you better nail this.” And let me tell you, Krista did not disappoint. She cites Merle Haggard and George Jones as her main musical influences, and since Blake is the only coach who has more than a vague perception of those people, with all four coaches at her disposal, Krista went with Team Blake. With Emily Ann Roberts and Morgan Frazier also on Team Blake with Krista, we could be seeing the next Danielle Bradbery emerge this season. With this show, you never know what’s going to happen.

With the Blinds finished and heading into Battles, I’m feeling pretty good about there being a future star in any one of these talented people.

LET THE BATTLES BEGIN!

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Picks for The Voice Season 9

  1. I chomping at the bit
    Cant wait for Monday to see how ur picks r doing
    Great. Reviews!!!!!

  2. OMG YAS! I love the voice!!!

Leave a Reply

