Maisie the Writer

Just a girl blogging about her life…

Must Not Fail

4 Comments

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Must Not Fail.”

One of the first things people usually notice about me in a work setting is what a perfectionist I am. I want everything to be just so, and if I feel like I haven’t done the best humanly possible job at anything, I will work and work and work until it is absolutely perfect. I beat myself up over the smallest things, and I spend much longer on my homework than most other kids because I need everything to be just so.

One thing I’m really afraid of failing, or doing terribly, is writing or blogging. My dream is to be a professional writer. I love what I do so much, and I’m so blessed to have this blog and to have had so many incredible guest-blogging opportunities. Writing makes me feel so happy and confident. It gives me a purpose in life.

I started writing when I was going through a really rough time at school, and it has been there for me at every moment of my life since then. If I ever write something that makes people question my abilities or that makes people stop liking my blog, I don’t know what I’d do. My life would be a whole lot less meaningful. I want to take advantage of every writing opportunity I get, and I know that if I fail a writing opportunity, I would never forgive myself for it.

I guess the best way to put this is that if I ever make a mistake that costs me my future in writing, I would lose one of the things in life that makes me feel like I can positively impact the world somehow. Everyone has to make their mark on the world in one way or another. My writing is my mark.

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

4 thoughts on “Must Not Fail

  1. Quite a self-effacing piece, Maisie. Very brave of you to be so vulnerable publicly. At 60, I have finally allowed myself to be easier with myself. Trust me you will come up short at some point in your life. It’s not worth beating yourself up. Would you allow your friends to do that to you? Just something to think about. You express yourself very well. Just keep doing it.

  2. Remember the saying….progress not perfection!!! You are making your mark and doing a great job!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ we are Soooo proud of you always!!!! Oxoxoxo

  3. MAISIE
    This writing is one of your most amazing !!!!
    Keep telling your truth and it all will be just soooo perfect
    πŸ˜‹

  4. It is from doing that perfection comes. You are already doing, the rest will fall into place. Just keep writing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

