The Young and the Rested by Maisie the Writer

2 Comments

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Young and the Rested.”

The last time I felt truly rejuvenated was on my birthday this year, which was a few weeks ago. My family and I hiked up a waterfall and then went down to the base of the waterfall to swim. The hike was an entirely uphill, 3/4 mile hike, so my parents, brother, and I were all SUPER tired by the time we got to the falls.

The four of us scaled down the cliff-like rock formation to the base of the waterfall. I, being the klutziest person east of the Mississippi, was afraid that I would slip on the rocks and fall to my death. The universe probably cared that it was my birthday and thus spared me of any potential doom. I took off my shoe and dipped my toe into the water.

HOLY SCHNITZEL THAT IS COLD!!!!! I screamed in my head. However, I REALLY wanted to go swimming, so I braved the cold and jumped into the water. As my head came up from being completely submerged, I winced from the icy chill that washed over me. I began to regret plunging into the water, which, according to a sign near the falls, is glacial runoff.

Then, an entirely different sensation than I’m-going-to-die-of-frostbite washed over me, a sensation entirely unfamiliar to any inhabitant of the fast-paced-go-go-go culture of today’s society.

Rejuvenation. Energy.

Wow.

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

2 thoughts on “The Young and the Rested by Maisie the Writer

  1. Terrific post.
    I loved your description and your final reaction!

  2. What a GREAT experience!!!! Hugs. Grandma

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

