Maisie the Writer

Just a girl blogging about her life…

Delayed Contact by Maisie the Writer

2 Comments

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Delayed Contact.”

Today, I’m trying something new. I found an AWESOME new blog called The Daily Post (http://dailypost.wordpress.com) that has a new blog post prompt for every single day! So, when I feel like writing a post, but I don’t know what to write about, I will choose a random prompt from The Daily Post and use it as inspiration. The prompt I chose today is:

“How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?”

So, without further ado, here is the story of me meeting my brother, Gabe, for the first time ever in an alternate universe where we are not related at all.

“Bye, sweetie. Have a great day!” Mom gave me a kiss as I ran up the steps of the camp bus.

“Good morning, Sarah!” I waved at my bus counselor, grinning widely.

“You’re very chipper this morning, Maisie!” Sarah commented.

“Just excited to start the week, I guess.” I walked through the aisle of the bus, trying to find an empty seat. I finally found one towards the back of the bus, and I sat down on the window side of the seat.

Just then, another kid asked if he could sit next to me. I had never met him before in my life. Not being one to make others feel excluded, I let him sit down.

“I’m Maisie, by the way. What’s your name?”

“Gabe,” the boy responded. He was very tall, and had a messy mop of brown hair atop his head. He had large, dark brown eyes and rosy cheeks.

“How old are you?” I asked Gabe.

“11,” Gabe responded.

“Oh, I’m 14. What do you like to do in your free time?”

“I love to play video games and watch YouTube videos. I especially love Pokemon.” Gabe then talked all about his favorite Pokemon, how he prefers the video games over the trading cards, his favorite Pokemon movies, et cetera, until we got off the bus.

Later that day, at lunch, I noticed that Gabe was sitting alone at lunch. I knew how hard it was to be the new kid, so I sat down next to him on the grass, and I asked him more about Pokemon and other video game-related things, since I was by no means an expert at any of that.

At the end of the day, Gabe seemed like a really nice kid. I knew that we would become fast friends.

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

2 thoughts on “Delayed Contact by Maisie the Writer

  1. Such fun
    Gabe is so lucky to have such a sensitive sister …..and. FRIEND
    So now we can read you EVERY DAY:)

Leave a Reply

