My Summer Jams 2015

6 Comments

Hey readers!

As I write this, it is June 7th. My 8th grade graduation is in a little over two weeks, and summer is so close we can almost taste it. As many people, music industry professionals and hairbrush singers alike, know, summer is prime-time season for new hits. I mean, you can’t have a beachside BBQ without the perfect soundtrack to groove to! This is my personal list of Summer 2015 Jams, and if you haven’t yet checked any of these songs out, I’m including the links to the videos for these songs in this post.

1. “Cheerleader” by Omi, Felix Jaehn Remix

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMXl7Uu6A0A

The beat in this song is, to put it simply, infectious! I dare you to sit still without grooving in your seat when you listen to this hot new track. The rhythm of the song is so artfully crafted, and the trumpet was just such a fun, creative touch to this fabulous summer 2015 pop hit.

2) “This is Gospel (Piano Version)” by Panic! At The Disco

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KNnmcZlNZrU

Everyone I know has been RAVING about Panic! At The Disco since 7th grade, and I still hadn’t gotten around to checking them out. Then, my friends did an impromptu jam session to this beautiful, inspirational misfit anthem during lunch at school, and I just HAD to check it out. I don’t really like the original version of this song because all of the extra bells and whistles distract from Brendon Urie’s silky, haunting, richly melodic voice. You can check out the original if you want, but the acoustic version personally clicks with my music tastes better.

3) “Cliche” by Christina Grimmie

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLMGpmWGaDk

If you thought I was going to make a Summer Jams 2015 list without including Grimmie’s electronica-inspired new single, you clearly don’t know me at all. Her vocals on this song are clean-cut and absolutely stellar, and the beat to this song is just plain awesome. Definitely check it out.

4) “Bad Blood” by Taylor Swift ft. Kendrick Lamar

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QcIy9NiNbmo

Taylor Swift and Selena Gomez facing off against each other with armies of badass female spies, including Hailee Steinfeld, Zendaya, Karlie Kloss, Gigi Hadid, and Ellie Goulding. That would be a yes.

5) “Dancing Like A White Girl” by Dinah Jane

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVelcAOPrLs

Dinah Jane is a PERFECT GODDESS ANGEL FABULOUS PRINCESS QUEEN — I MEAN member of up-and-coming girl group Fifth Harmony. The moment when I discovered that she recorded this song as a solo artist when she was in middle school was probably the weirdest moment of my life, because she sounded EXACTLY THE SAME AS SHE SOUNDS NOW AT ALMOST 18 YEARS OLD!

Then, I looked past the awkwardness of the song, and I realized that it was actually a great, radio-ready song — the music execs really missed out on this one! Well, God has His plan for all of us, and clearly, He orchestrated the formation of Fifth Harmony.

6) “Nobody Love” by Tori Kelly

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MPX3qz1ve7M

OMG. AMAZING. FABULOUS. PERFECT. It has a Christina Aguilera-meets-R&B type flavor, and you won’t be able to get this one out of your head.

7) “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xo1VInw-SKc

This one takes the top prize for 2015’s ultimate empowerment anthem. ‘Nuff said. Check it out, cry for hours, and, in the end, be inspired by this masterpiece.

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

6 thoughts on “My Summer Jams 2015

  1. These reviews are REALLY making me want to go and hear them all….& .I WILL. 🙂
    Thank you !!
    Great job!!!!

  2. Awesome and engaging writing!!!! Maybe we can listen to all of these together??? Sooo proud of you!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. LOVE this post, sweetie. But how do you know that SHE didn’t create Fifth Harmony?

  4. Just finished listening to some of them….I think I’ve found my new favorites in Cliche and Cheerleader!!!! Thank you for sharing- I’m always looking for new music 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

