Are you a feminist if you wear hypersexualized clothing?

5 Comments

Are you a feminist if you wear hypersexualized clothing?

 

This is a question I have been pondering in great detail lately. It all started when the music video for Fifth Harmony’s “Worth It” came out. I was very excited to see it because the girls of Fifth Harmony mentioned that they tried to make it a “music video about feminism and girl empowerment.”

 

What they produced was nothing short of appalling.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBHQbu5rbdQ

 

As a die-hard feminist, I believe that a woman should be free to choose to wear whatever she wants without any form of pressure from society or her peer group. If a woman CHOOSES to wear high-heels or super short shorts or a see-through top, that’s her choice. I am in no position whatsoever to interfere with another woman’s personal choices.

 

However, it’s a COMPLETELY different story if another person–of any gender–tells a woman what to wear. I believe that one of the most anti-feminist things one can do is to tell a woman what to wear. As I said before, what a woman wears is her personal choice, and her choice alone.

 

That being said, if the girls of Fifth Harmony chose their own outfits for the video and they were comfortable with being seen as “sexy” by the general public, then power to them. However, if their producer or record label told them to dress sexy in the video and they were apprehensive about it, I am not fine with that. Especially since the girls are so young; all of them are between the ages of 17 and 21!

 

Personally, I choose to dress modestly because I believe that girls my age are put under WAY too much societal pressure to dress sexy, and I want to show other girls my age that if they’re uncomfortable with wearing the clothes that they find in the store, they have another option.

Plus, quite frankly, I hate it when people stare at me and I feel incredibly self-conscious when I wear clothing that shows parts of my body that really should not be seen. I want people to judge me for my writing, ideas, courage, and attempts to be kind and generous, not for my physical appearance.

 

That being said, if I am going to an event that calls for fancy attire, I’ll put on a nice dress. I don’t wear makeup because the last time I tried wearing makeup, it didn’t come off for over a week.

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

5 thoughts on “Are you a feminist if you wear hypersexualized clothing?

  1. Right on !!!
    You sure know how to tell it like it is and sticking up for what you believe in, thats a REAL comfort to many girls your age. 🙂

  2. Amen daughter!!!! I am so proud of you for being your own person and for thinking critically about these important issues!!! Soooo proud of you!!!! Oxoxoxo

  3. I love that you are already considering the power of clothing to communicate something to the world about who you are. We all have to get dressed every day (at least in the US!) and what we choose to wear speaks like a picture: an outfit paints a thousand words, too! I am interested to see how your thoughts evolve over time! So proud of how beautiful you are inside and outside! My blog is almost up and running! Check in to see what you think about my ideas!! Thanks for the inspiration! Love you!

  4. Maisie — what do you think of these books? http://www.buzzfeed.com/sarahbreen/feminist-books-ftw#.jxBvxy51b xoxox

Leave a Reply

