Maisie the Writer

Just a girl blogging about her life…

My Rant on Jason Derulo’s “Wiggle”

Leave a comment

If you’ve listened to pop music at any point in the past few months, you have probably stumbled upon the song “Wiggle” by Jason Derulo featuring Snoop Dogg (or is it Snoop Lion? Make up your mind, Snoopy!). I first heard this song at a bat mitzvah I attended, and I decided to listen to the full version on YouTube, and my first thought was: “is this a JOKE?” I thought this because out of all of the songs that dehumanize women on the radio today, and believe me, there are WAY too many of them, this song would be the official anthem of the Misogynist Society of America.
The main message of the song is that the most important thing about a girl is her butt. Apparently, according to Jason Derulo, a girl is more attractive if she has a big butt. Literally, some of the lyrics of the song are: “Hot damn it/Your booty like two planets/Go head, and go ham sammich/Whoa, I can’t stand it.” Another section of the song is: “I got one question/How do you fit all that…in them jeans?” Well, I’ve got a newsflash for you, Jason: A GIRL’S BUTT IS ONE OF THE LEAST IMPORTANT THINGS ABOUT A GIRL!!!!!!! The three most important things about a girl are NOT found on the outside, they are found in her heart. These 3 things are: kindness, kindness, and kindness. Think about this: would you rather have a girlfriend who is really pretty but disrespectful and unkind towards everyone, or a girlfriend who is not extremely “attractive” but is kind, generous, and respectful to everyone?
My advice to girls and women: Whenever you hear this song come on the radio, turn it off and listen to a song that is more respectful towards girls and women and acknowledges that girls and women are PEOPLE, not objects. The size of a girl’s butt doesn’t matter at all. All that matters is the size of a girl’s heart.
My advice to Jason Derulo: If all you care about in women is how attractive they are, go and get yourself some dolls to play with. Dolls are actually toys. Girls are not toys. Also, good luck with getting me to listen to any of your “music” again: it ain’t gonna happen.

href=”http://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjrd-cuCt20″ title=”Jason Derulo Wiggle”>

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

Leave a Reply

