Up and Coming: Becky G

1 Comment

I’m taking a break from writing my original novella to write this post on a new artist I just discovered on YouTube a few weeks ago. As anyone who knows me knows, YouTube is a huge part of my life. Whenever I’m bored, I go straight to YouTube. I can always depend on there being an awesome new video or miniseries on there for me to watch. A few weeks ago, I stumbled upon a young artist from California named Rebecca Gomez, affectionately known to her fans as Becky G. She is currently on tour with Austin Mahone, AKA the new, talented, and sane Justin Bieber (DON’T think Austin won’t go crazy in the near future). She is more popular on YouTube and Radio Disney than in the “real” music industry, but her new single, “Shower,” is #29 on the Top 40 charts as of June 15, 2014, and it just keeps climbing. I’d have to say that Shower is my favorite song by Becky G because it is generally the most melodic and musical of her songs, but I also like “Becky From The Block,” “The Monster,” “Play it Again,” and “Can’t Get Enough.” 

Overall, I would give Becky 3.5 out of 5 stars because while she does have a really good voice, it’s not the best technically, and a lot of her songs aren’t very “musical,” per se because she’s also a rapper. If you don’t like pop music or Latin music, then Becky G is probably not the best artist for you to listen to. But all in all, she’s a spirited, spunky, and incredibly talented young artist. Check her out in the links below!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=204RpkonU-s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoNGLnU37E0&list=PLAtB-AVmvwSoGtVyU4rPNGPhxDNg8M9qz

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bB3ZBe6R2Pc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TmS-RG6_epg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tl2uU1oVRCA

Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

One thought on “Up and Coming: Becky G

  1. Great little blog post, Maisie. I also really like the title – it’s concise and eye-catching, and captures the content extremely well.

Leave a Reply

