Yoga

Leave a comment

Yoga

Recently, I started taking yoga classes on a weekly basis. I take a tween and teen yoga class called Yogi Blossoms on Fridays. I love going to yoga on Fridays because my school gets out at 1:40 and yoga starts at 3, so Friday is my day of tranquility. I’m kind of the underdog of my class because I can only kick up into headstand for about half a second and my feet can’t even stay on the wall in handstand. I also have the balance of a weak wooden shack in a tornado. I practice my yoga a lot, but apparently not enough. Despite my horrible balance, I work on my flexibility on an almost daily basis, and it’s really paying off. I can lift my leg above my head (almost) and I can touch my toes in a standing forward fold.
I’d have to say my favorite pose is either Wheel (Upward Bow), shoulder stand, or Plow. They are my favorites partly because I am really good at them and partly because they give my back an amazing stretch. I also like standing strong in Warrior II, howling at the moon in Upward Dog, and bending forward in Butterfly.
As a singer, a big part of yoga for me is the music I practice with. My personal favorite yoga tunes are Ed Sheeran’s “Lego House” and “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri. I also love the authentic feel of practicing yoga to ancient Sanskrit melodies. My teacher also plays “Mirrors” by Justin Timberlake sometimes, but as much as I love the song, the tempo is too fast for yoga.
I love doing Shivasana (corpse pose) at the end of yoga class. After hard work timing breathing with movement, it’s nice to chill and let go. During Shivasana, my teacher says these things called affirmations. The affirmations are pretty much statements that we repeat back to ourselves like, “I am loved,” “I am beautiful (the class is all girls),” or “I am worthy.”
Even though yoga can be hard and aggravating at times, it is the most relaxing activity on this planet. Between pranayama (breath work), asana (poses), stretching, and Shivasana, the feeling of fulfillment and pride in my abilities after yoga class is one of my favorite feelings in the world. That is why I never, ever give up on a pose in yoga. I love to feel proud of myself and I really want to become a flexible, balanced, and strong yogi one day.
Author: amazingmaisie28

Hey! I'm Maisie! I love writing, reading, singing, acting, hip-hop dance, and yoga. Bryana Salaz is life.

Leave a Reply

